Beautiful Mind: Mind Castle (Alan)

YES! At last, my fellow friend post an awesome post!

As requested by my friend, let me properly introduce myself. I am Alan, currently studying Electrical Engineering degree in university. Hard to imagine a typical engineer writing about psychology eh? Well, I wanted to be different, now I am.

Anyway, I wanted to post something than I have learned before I post on deeper level of personality profiling, NLP and self-development. This is about our beautiful mind and what we can do with such wonderful gift.

Your world may be ugly, your life may be dull, your life may be full of stress, your life may be full of crap that you refuse to understand. You cannot control all these variables, you cannot control other people’s decision, you cannot control the whole economy, you cannot control your boss, and you definitely cannot stop someone from making your life miserable. Yet, there is something that is always in your control. YOUR MIND.

Perhaps you cannot defy the social conditioning that were forced down onto you.
Perhaps you cannot choose where you are born at, what you are born with.
Perhaps you cannot point middle finger at everyone every time when you are angry.
But, you can do all that in your mind.
You are the only one inside your own mind, unless you belong to some special cases.

What I want to say here is a place that you built for yourself. In my case, I have a wonderful mind castle to relax when I feel like it. And it is easy to do.

I tried on my 8-year-old sister and she loved it. It is very fun to do it before she slept. It was my style of bed time story. I realised that my bed time story does not suits her, simply because I don’t remember any of the story i read. Haha. So, I thought of what I did before I sleep, and tried on her. She loves it!

I asked her to close her eyes and imagine a castle. After she build a cute castle, pinkish little castle, I asked her to go to the front door, push the door and go inside. Then, I told her to decorate the interior of castle and describe it to me. Apparently, inside is golden, with chandelier in the middle (She described it as light in the middle). Next, I asked her to describe more by telling her to put in tables, chairs, cupboard and book shelves.

Her castle has: To the left, teddy bear collections on the shelves, her school bags right beside the teddy bear collection shelf. To the right, her homework and story books on the table . I asked her create a book shelf beside the table, collect all her homework and story books  on the table and put them on her book shelves. She did it. And I asked her what was her home work about and how she put them into the book shelf. She told me, her home work consists of maths, languages… etc, and some textbooks. After she organise it, I asked her what she saw. She said, she saw each textbook with the their label. When I asked her to take the book, open up and asked her what she saw, she said she saw the books are blank. Ok.

So, I asked her to put back the boring homework and take out on story book. What was the name of the story book? She said about three little pig and the wolf. Opening up the book, it was blank. So I told her to play the story. She played the story, while describing to me what happened in the story. She said, (not the exact words)it was like a movie playing on top of the story book. I waited for her to finish. Finished? yes. So, the story would now stored in the story book. I asked her to close the book and put it back to the book shelf. And then, I asked her whether want to read another story book. She said yes, and told me about Tom and Jerry. Tom was chasing Jerry and Jerry was doing a lot of funny act to Tom, bla bla. I cannot remember the details anyway. After she finished, closed the book and put it back to the book shelf. Then, put everything nicely in the castle. And then asked her whether it was fun. Yeah! Okay go to sleep.

I did for a few times each with different stories. She loved it.

Why was I doing that? It was because she wanted bed time story. I was telling her Harry Potter. -.- I cannot even remember the Harry Potter and sorcerer Stone’s Story. And my other stories were too deep for her to understand. How on earth am I going to explain about my epic story about magic, love, and sacrifice…. as a bed time story? My style of story telling would make her wanted to know more instead of going to sleep. I am not a good bed-time story-teller. I passed the idea but I am going to tell her about it when she is old enough to grasp the essence of the story. Also, when the whole story is complete.

Sounds fun so far? I have my own mind castle, affected by my sister’s castle after I guide her into building her own, with golden interior, chandelier in the middle. A big room door on the right. To the left, book shelves on the left, with tables and chair for me to read books. A big stair case in the middle with red carpet, that leads to the second floor. An aisle or passage way behind the stair case, with many rooms.  This is the place where I store all the knowledge I have, according to each subject in my study. Now the second floor. The second floor has a big screen, and control panel. It stores my experience during the daytime through my eyes. Any details I want to take down will store in a file like a computer file, and then I can scroll over to browse through them. For example, I want to see this person’s profile. His/her picture will pop up with his/her name. I can put whatever description in it. Then store back.

It is really wonderful to have this mind castle. I tend to remember more on the details I experience during the day. Of course, only if I stored them in the castle before I sleep. It is like a library to me. I can relax inside, fly like superman in the castle into different sections.

So, I propose this to people, particularly people who have visual reconstruct representation system, to improve on memory problem. Note: visual recreation means you create images when you think, when you try to remember things, and most of the time you are looking in 3rd person’s perspective (You are goddamn imaginative, admit it). Practice this everyday, you will see big change in your memory. I don’t do this everyday but I still can remember the content of my subjects well. Even though the subject was taken one year ago. However, I regret that I didn’t do it everyday. Or else, I wouldn’t have the problem of remembering the 1st half of my subjects damn bloody well and nothing about the 2nd half. Not enough practice. Nothing comes easy. No pain, no gain.

This is fun. You can do whatever you want inside. Fly like superman, curse and swear when angry, crash and burn things inside or take out two AK47, one on each arm and shoot like Chuck Norris. No need to reload, you will never run out of bullets.

Don’t get the wrong idea. It is a place to release stress, not to make it happen in real life. It is your own life library, your storage, your imaginary notebook. A place for imagination. A place to fall back to when you are exhausted in your reality. A beautifully designed castle, with rooms of your own design. Your dream home inside. When you get to your own home, you can design it like your mind castle.

So, now let’s get into details.

First of all, close your eyes. Imagine a castle/mansion or whatever building you like.
Go to the door, open it and go inside.
Once inside, decorate it as you like. The colour, the lighting, the floor, the ceiling. You can make as many floors as you can but I recommend 2 to 3 floors only (easy to remember).
Put a book shelf for collection of books. Make sure you have a place to relax and read (can be sofa or table or bed).
Imagine yourself walking through and exploring the castle.
Then, have a place to store your memory, perhaps a futuristic computer like me or maybe a huge book.
Next, you can create doors for different rooms. Once you open the door, you go inside and do as you wish. These rooms can be your own designed dream master bedroom, a place to store your memory as well. For me, I create a long hallway with room doors, with each room labeled with the name of subject I wished to remember. Inside the room, I have a board to display different chapters of the topic. In the middle of the room, I have a control panel to take out which part of the topic as I wished.
Remember always put your memory into this castle and look at it. The more you do it, the more you can remember the exact memory that you put in. For some reason, I can still remember the whole journey I took to reach my part-time company 1 year ago. I can still remember what I see, how I felt and what people I met.
Therefore, when you go to each sections of your mind castle, feel what is there. When you open the door, ‘feel’ that you pushed the door. If you are reading a book, ‘feel’ the book in your hands, feel yourself flipping the pages of the book. Once you do it, you will remember very well.

This whole thing is based on a drama series I watched from TV. I couldn’t replicate the steps so I modify it to suit myself. For more info, you can read more books on memory palace to become a master in this.

So, have you created your own castle?

Beautiful isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “Beautiful Mind: Mind Castle (Alan)

  1. KahKig says:

    Great !!! Its really good….really helped me a lot, and of coz ,i’m looking forward for more of these body language an mind set stuff !!! ^.^

    Good job Alan and fren, keep it up !!! Good luck

    • alan0007 says:

      Good to know that it helps you. Keep track on my friend’s post as well because he is more eloquent, explaining deeper into each topic. I am more direct and informative.

Leave a Reply

